PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mounting my Windows hard drive

endlessmike
December 10th, 2008, 03:01 AM
Hi. I know there are about 1,000,000 posts similar to this and i tried to follow them to no avail.

Anyway, I want use Ubuntu to retrieve files from my crashed HP. It randomly crashed trying to emerge from hibernation. So anyway, I am not that good with computers beyond uhhhhh..... OK I'm not that good.

I tried the
sudo mkdir /media/windows

then the sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/hda1/ media/windows
where it tells me No such file or directory.

I would guess my hard drive is in some sort of working order as it lets me save openoffice documents.

When i try to access to harddrive under the PLaces tab it gives me a DBus error:Noreply

can someone talk me through this?

Thanks!

endlessmike
December 10th, 2008, 03:22 AM
OK, I did sudo fdisk -l and i believe the windows is "sda1"
i tried this and not an input/out error stating ntfs is inconsistent, hardware faults, or have Softraid/fakeraid hardware. It tells me to run chkdsk /f. What is that/where do i do that?

oilchangeguy
December 10th, 2008, 03:24 AM
Hi. I know there are about 1,000,000 posts similar to this and i tried to follow them to no avail.

Anyway, I want use Ubuntu to retrieve files from my crashed HP. It randomly crashed trying to emerge from hibernation. So anyway, I am not that good with computers beyond uhhhhh..... OK I'm not that good.

I tried the
sudo mkdir /media/windows

then the sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/hda1/ media/windows
where it tells me No such file or directory.

I would guess my hard drive is in some sort of working order as it lets me save openoffice documents.

When i try to access to harddrive under the PLaces tab it gives me a DBus error:Noreply

can someone talk me through this?

Thanks!