PDA

View Full Version : Visual Basic & Ubuntu?

eriktherandom
December 9th, 2008, 12:04 PM
Hey all, I've been using Ubuntu on and off for about 3 years, but mainly use Windows (the security-crap ridden thing it is), and I've been programming in Visual Basic for about 3 years. I've been wondering (being that it is a Microsoft language), if it is possible to get Visual Basic under Ubuntu. I know someone was developing a project much like .NET, but do not know much about it.

davidbilla
December 9th, 2008, 12:09 PM
Try this (http://vb.wikia.com/wiki/Running_Visual_Basic_under_Ubuntu_Linux). It seems to be using Wine.

And there's also something else called Gambas, which is supposedly similar(not identical), to VB. Check it out too.

eriktherandom
December 9th, 2008, 12:33 PM
Thanks! I will do that, I've read on using VB 6 on it, but it kept throwing me a DLL error.

nvteighen
December 9th, 2008, 04:16 PM
I guess this won't work very good. I mean, VB does extensive use of Windows system DLLs for GUI and you might get some reduced functionality because of missing DLLs... If I'm not wrong some widgets are installed by other MS software (like Office) that you may not be able to install through Wine. Also, you may have problems when running your programs...

So, I'd prefer to use VB on Windows...

pmasiar
December 9th, 2008, 05:21 PM
Every competent programmer should be able to use multiple languages, as appropriate for the task.

There are couple of "VB-like" (which means algol-like) and cross-platform languages you should learn: Python (or possible Ruby or Perl) for scripting tasks, C when you need very effective code, possibly Java. And couple of "non-VB" languages too, to expand your thinking (consider it weightlifting for your brains), like Lisp/Scheme, Forth, Prolog, Erlang or Haskel (pick at least 3).