PDA

View Full Version : Best programming language for noob to start with?

Rubicon421
December 8th, 2008, 09:27 PM
What is the best/most useful programming language for me to start learning? I'm new to Linux and currently only use Ubuntu. I want to have a better understanding of the OS and become more familiar with using the terminal. I've been a windows computer geek for over 25 years but have almost no programming background in linux or windows.

So where's a good place to start? What sites or tutorials can you recommend?

namegame
December 8th, 2008, 09:33 PM
First of all, read the stickies, they will be helpful.

Here is a link to one that should contain the information about your needs.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=796494

If you have any questions after that, feel free to ask.

scragar
December 8th, 2008, 09:34 PM
Bash is a very nice place to start, since it is both a programming language and what is used on the terminal, so it will give you a good boost in linux experience.

If you don't want to use bash, or want to learn a more cross compatable language I do recommend learning something like python or perl(python is very easy to learn, but perl is a closer similarity to lots of other languages, meaning if you ever want to pick up another you will have an easier time).

pmasiar
December 8th, 2008, 09:46 PM
but perl is a closer similarity to lots of other languages, meaning if you ever want to pick up another you will have an easier time).

Not sure how you define "similarity": at minimum OOP in Perl is ugly and is obviously hacked on. Perl **is** closer to bash you seems to prefer, but has way too many quirks to be suitable for beginner these days (scalar vs list context? $ vs @ vs %?) especially if simpler and cleaner languages exists, like Python you mentioned.

OP: See wiki in my sig for links to learn Python.

nvteighen
December 8th, 2008, 10:03 PM