PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble installing Belkin FS06020 wireless adapter

hoekstbj
December 6th, 2008, 09:18 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu and been trying to install my wireless Belkin FS06020 card. I've tried Ndiswrapper and no succcess. I've been searching all over the internet. I found this article on the internet.

I have been successful with everything except for the network configuration script. I'm running Interprid and cannot find the sysconfig folder under the etc folder.

Since I haven't added a new script for my wireless card could this be the problem?

" The Linux networking subsystem uses configuration scripts in /etc/sysconfig/network OR /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts, (depending on your distribution) with names that start with "ifcfg-". The script for the new wireless card will be "ifcfg-wlan0". Create this file with the following contents:

DEVICE=wlan0
NAME=wlan0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
ONBOOT=yes

"

The Belkin F5D6020 version 3 is a PCMCIA (32-bit CardBus) wireless 802.11b network interface card that uses the Realtek RTL8180L Chipset. As with many PC manufacturers, Belkin often makes significant changes the internal hardware of a device without changing the model number and/or outward appearance of the card. Thankfully, Belkin usually lists version numbers on the packaging (oddly as "Ver. 3000"). Note that the version 3 card described in this document uses a different chipset than other versions of this card. Version 2 uses the Atmel chipset (see atmelwlandriver.sourceforge.net). The unversioned release uses the Prism 2, 2.5 and 3 chipsets (see www.goonda.org/wireless/prism2/). To find chipsets used in other cards, see this list of WLAN cards.

Personally, I prefer ndiswrapper over linux-wlan. Although ndiswrapper does not provide rfmon support that can be used with kismet or airsnort, it does permit iwlist scans, which linux-wlan does not. Ndiswrapper also does not use cryptic specialized configuration files line linux-wlan