PDA

View Full Version : Start Programming C/C++

corujask8
December 6th, 2008, 12:19 AM
Hi, I'm new at Ubuntu and I want to start programming. I chose C to start, and I want to know what compiler can I use. I tried to to use GCC, but when I put gcc in terminal, appears some message saying "no input files". Do you know what should I do?

ibutho
December 6th, 2008, 12:26 AM
What command did you run and what was the detailed output. Try something like

gcc hello.c -o hello

Daveski
December 6th, 2008, 12:30 AM
Try:

man gcc
or

gcc --help

These work with most Linux commands.
Reading the documentation (or at least scanning it) will give you some clue how the command is expecting to work. In this case the compiler expects at least the source code. If you were expecting a development environment, then you need to look elsewhere as the compiler is just a compiler.

corujask8
December 6th, 2008, 12:41 AM
At first, I put only "gcc", but I put these commands too and nothing...
Remembering that I not a programmer, I'm starting to learn...
Thank's.

juanoleso
December 6th, 2008, 01:14 AM
Daveski is right, GCC will only compile your program, which means turn it from C to something that the computer will be able to use (binary file). An IDE (integrated development environment) is probably what you are looking for. An IDE is a program that will help you write code by doing different things. Eclipse is used a lot, but I have never so I'm sorry I can't give you any advice with it and I don't even know if it supports C...

Also, for graphical programs, you may want to look into the GTK or Qt libraries. Libraries are sections of code that have already been written and that you can use in your code so you don't have to "re-invent the wheel."

After you have written your code, you will then use GCC or another compielr to compile your files into a program.