PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] usrobotics usb modem and hylafax



funkgui
December 3rd, 2008, 01:54 PM
Hi to all,

is there anyone that is using hylafax with a usrobotics usb modem (USR805637)?

I can configure it with hylafax but when using faxstat the system tell me "Waiting for modem to come ready" and the syslog tell me:

Dec 3 13:44:47 fax HylaFAX[8872]: HylaFAX INET Protocol Server: restarted.
Dec 3 13:44:47 fax FaxGetty[8883]: OPEN /dev/ttyACM0 HylaFAX (tm) Version 4.4.3
Dec 3 13:45:04 fax FaxGetty[8883]: /dev/ttyACM0: Can not initialize modem.
Dec 3 13:46:38 fax FaxGetty[8883]: Unable to setup modem on /dev/ttyACM0; giving up after 2 attempts
Dec 3 13:46:38 fax FaxQueuer[8870]: MODEM /dev/ttyACM0 appears to be wedged
Dec 3 13:46:38 fax FaxQueuer[8870]: MODEM WEDGED: bin/wedged "ttyACM0" "/dev/ttyACM0"
Dec 3 13:46:38 fax FaxGetty[8883]: CLOSE /dev/ttyACM0
Dec 3 13:46:38 fax FaxQueuer[8870]: NOTIFY exit status: 0 (8890)


Any idea???
thanks

mamut0o1
December 21st, 2008, 12:02 AM
which switches from the modem you have on? Do you have dial tone?

mamut

drunkgunner
May 16th, 2009, 12:38 AM
Bump.

I'm having the same issues with a US Robotics USB modem. I'd really like to get this resolved. I already started another thread at: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1142634&highlight=hylafax+ubuntu+server

Any help would be appreciated.

markvwxyz
July 30th, 2009, 04:31 AM
I had a similar probelm with the USR model 5637 usb modem and hylafax. After many debug hours, finally solved the problem with the following changes to config file generated by faxaddmodem:


ModemFlowControl: rtscts # hardware flow control
ModemSetupDTRCmd: ATs13=1&D3 # setup so DTR drop resets modem
ModemSetupDCDCmd: AT&C1 # setup so DCD reflects carrier (or not)
ModemNoFlowCmd: AT&H0 # setup modem for no flow control
ModemHardFlowCmd: AT&H1 # setup modem for hardware flow control
ModemSoftFlowCmd: AT&H2 # setup modem for software flow control
ModemMfrQueryCmd: !USR5637
ModemModelQueryCmd: ATI3
ModemRevQueryCmd: ATI7 # XXX returns a multi-line result
#
# When AT+FCLASS=1 is issued the modem automatically switches
# to software flow control; these parameters let the fax software
# reset flow control as needed after entering Class 1.
#
Class1NFLOCmd: AT+FLO=0 # setup modem for no flow control
Class1HFLOCmd: AT+FLO=2 # setup modem for hardware flow control
Class1SFLOCmd: AT+FLO=1 # modem does this automatically
#


Be sure to setup faxgetty in inittab.

littlebean2
August 16th, 2009, 04:31 PM
Hello markvwxyz (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=884047)

I met a lot of problems to install hylafax with the USR5637. Would you mind showing all your configuration files for Hylafax and USR5637 ?
Is it needed to compile anything ? And how in that case ?

Which Hylafax client are you using sucessfully ? AvantFax or something else?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help. I am stuck with this issue for weeks.

Raymond Day
August 17th, 2009, 05:25 PM
I have a post at here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=798793

I can't get this modem to work in my:

2.6.28-14-server #47-Ubuntu SMP Sat Jul 25 02:03:55 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux

I did a:


apt-get install hylafax-server

command and it install it. It can't find my modem.

What is a step-by-step way to install this USRobotics USR5637 56K V.92 USB modem? No one has told me and my post is like a year old the link I gave. I have this modem plug in my server for all that time and it don't light the LED's up. It does if I plug in in a windows XP PC.

Who every install it please do a history command to show the commands used to install it.

-Raymond Day

viktara
May 24th, 2010, 02:00 PM
I had a similar probelm with the USR model 5637 usb modem and hylafax. After many debug hours, finally solved the problem with the following changes to config file generated by faxaddmodem:


ModemFlowControl: rtscts # hardware flow control
ModemSetupDTRCmd: ATs13=1&D3 # setup so DTR drop resets modem
ModemSetupDCDCmd: AT&C1 # setup so DCD reflects carrier (or not)
ModemNoFlowCmd: AT&H0 # setup modem for no flow control
ModemHardFlowCmd: AT&H1 # setup modem for hardware flow control
ModemSoftFlowCmd: AT&H2 # setup modem for software flow control
ModemMfrQueryCmd: !USR5637
ModemModelQueryCmd: ATI3
ModemRevQueryCmd: ATI7 # XXX returns a multi-line result
#
# When AT+FCLASS=1 is issued the modem automatically switches
# to software flow control; these parameters let the fax software
# reset flow control as needed after entering Class 1.
#
Class1NFLOCmd: AT+FLO=0 # setup modem for no flow control
Class1HFLOCmd: AT+FLO=2 # setup modem for hardware flow control
Class1SFLOCmd: AT+FLO=1 # modem does this automatically
#


Be sure to setup faxgetty in inittab.

I changed the values in my config.ttyS0 for the values above and I can confirm hylafax is now working for me.

hgd06
August 17th, 2011, 10:05 AM
Hi to all

This setup works only on sending fax,

In receiving faxes I get:

ANSWER: Ring detected without successful handshake {E012}

Someone has any idea on how to fix this

(a part from trashing usr fax modem)

Thanks in advance for your response